Weather by John McGinley

spring storm
Snow Machine Continues Into February

Snow continued spilling over the Divide from deep Pacific moisture that plowed into Colorado. The West Slope had literally many feet of snow while we went over a foot over most of the Peak-to-Peak region. The two big days were 8-9 February where we received 10.2 inches. Total for the week was 14.9 inches…not too bad for an over-the-Divide event. We started the week with the coldest temperature of the winter with -20F Wednesday morning. As the warm Pacific air moved in we saw a gradual warm up with highs reaching the mid 30s by Sunday. Lows were in the upper teens to 20s. Winds weren’t too bad with only three days over 40mph. The snow total for February is now at 17 inches, already higher than normal

Day Date High Low Precip Comments
Wed Feb 5 12 -20 Trace S
Thu Feb 6 22 -3 1.1S/ 0.09L
Fri Feb 7 30 20 2.1S/ 0.11L Gusts to 46mph
Sat Feb 8 30 24 4.0S/ 0.37L Gusts to 40mph
Sun Feb 9 33 26 6.2S/ 0.62L
Mon Feb 10 35 19 1.5S/ 0.09L
Tues Feb 11 30 19 Gusts to 42mph
End-of-week snow on ground: 17.0 inches

Forecast

This week well see another moisture surge that will bring some snow Thursday and early Friday. After that we’ll see a warming trend with several days with highs in the 40s. With the warm up we will see some windy days. After Friday it should be mostly dry except for some possbible flurries on Monday.
Thursday-Feb 13: Partly cloudy to cloudy with some light snow and gusty westerly winds. Highs in the upper 30s with lows in the upper 20s.
Friday-Feb 14: Cloudy early with some flurries becoming fair by afternoon. Gusty winds. Highs near 40 after lows in the upper 20s.
Saturday-Feb 15: Fair and warm with highs in the low 40s with lows in the upper 20s.
Sunday-Feb 16: Gusty winds and warmer with highs in the mid 40s with lows in the low 30s.
Monday-Feb 17: A weak front will move through cooling things off and bringing some flurries. Highs in the upper 30s with lows in the 20s.
Tuesday-Feb 18: Windy and warmer with highs back into the mid 40s with lows in the upper 20s.
Wednesday-Feb 19: Windy and warm with highs in the upper 40s with lows in the low 30s.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: