BOT formally approves new Town Marshal

Pam North, Nederland

Screen shot 2014-01-09 at 7.21.24 PMThe Nederland Board of Trustees (BOT) met Tuesday evening, January 7. Members present were Mayor Joe Gierlach and Mayor pro tem Kenvin Mueller; Trustees Chris Perret, Ledge Long, Peter Fiori, and Randy Lee. Trustee Annette Croughwell was absent. Also in attendance were Town Administrator Alisha Reis, Town Treasurer Eva Forberger, Town Clerk Michele Martin, Town Attorney Carmen Beery, and Public Works Director Jason Morrison.

Under Informational Items, a presentation of the Excellence in Engineering Award for the Wastewater Treatment Plant was given by Bob Orsatti, Executive Vice President with Frachetti Engineering.

Under Action Items, the Final Change Order for the Wastewater Treatment Plant was approved.
Resolution 2014-91, appointing 26-year police veteran James Matheney as the new Town Marshal was approved. Matheney was one of 40 candidates who applied for the position late last fall, following the  September 20 resignation of former Marshal Jake Adler.

Under Discussion Items,  a request for well waiver for 33 Stinky Gulch Road was heard and tabled for a future meeting in order to research the matter more thoroughly.
Consideration of a ballot question regarding compensation for the Mayor and Trustees was tabled until the February 4 meeting.
The meeting adjourned at 10:31 p.m.

The next regular meeting of the Nederland Board of Trustees will be on Tuesday, January 21, at 7:00 p.m. at the Community Center.
For full coverage of this meeting, see the upcoming January 16 issue of the Mountain-Ear.