This Week’s Weather

August Rain Twice NormalWeather artidcle featured photo
By John McGinley
To no one’s surprise August was very wet….. how about more than twice the normal precipitation of 2.24 inches. My total was 4.62 for the month, probably representative of rain amounts county wide. This was the third wettest August in my record, the winner being 2001 where we had 5.77 inches. For the month the average high was 75F with the average low at 50F. This resulted in a month 2 degrees above normal. The last few days of August were rainy but amounts were only a few hundredths. Highs were mostly in the upper 70s with lows in the low 50s. Upslope conditions on Sunday kept things cool with a 66 high, and cloudy with some light showers. By Tuesday we were back near 80.
.
Day Date High Low Precip Comments
Wed Aug 28 77 51 0,08L Thunderstorm
Thu Aug 29 77 54 0.01L Shower
Fri Aug 30 78 55 0.03L Thunderstorm
Sat Aug 31 76 51 0.05L Thunderstorm
Sun Sep 1 66 50 0.01L Shower
Mon Sep 2 75 49
Tues Sep 3 79 56
Forecast
This week we see an end to the monsoon as a moderately strong upper level trough will move through the area on Sunday. Until then we’ll have the usual afternoon mountain showers and thunderstorms. Temperatures will be in the mid 70s but will fall into the 60s by Tuesday. Clouds and showers will also follow the front.
Thursday-Sep 5: Partly cloudy with a chance of afternoon showers. High md 70s with lows in the low 50s.
Friday-Sep 6: Much like Thursday.
Saturday- Sep 7: Try the forecast for Thursday, again.
Sunday-Sep 8: We’ll start out with gusty southwesterly winds and lower humidity. Fire danger will be slightly elevated. Highs in the mid 70s with lows in the upper 40s late. Frontal passage in the evening with a very slight chance of a shower.
Monday-Sep 9: Partly cloudy to cloudy with some upslope. Good chance of showers and thunderstorms. Highs near 70 with lows in the upper 40s.
Tuesday-Sep 10. Cloudy and cooler with highs in the mid 60s with lows in the low 40s. Showers or light rain possible. Will feel a bit like fall.
Wednesday-Sep 11: Partly cloudy and warmer with highs in the upper 60s after lows in the mid 40s.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: