This Week’s Weather

By John McGinley
Monsoon Continues; July Very Wet And A Bit Cool
With a persistent upper level high to our south and southeast, moist flow continued into Colorado during thewindlightning-300x193 last week. The big surge came on Friday and continued through Monday. Showers were scattered so rainfall amounts varied from place to place. August did get off to a good start with much of the Front Range getting some good rain. I had thunderstorms Saturday through Monday. High temperatures were mostly in the upper 70s with lows near 50.
Last Wednesdy July came to an end and we finished the month with nearly three times the normal rain at 6.85 inches (normal is 2.24 inches). The average high was76F with an average low of 50F. These combined to make July about a half degree below normal.
Day Date High Low Precip Comments
Wed Jul 31 79 50
Thu Aug 1 79 48
Fri Aug 2 81 56
Sat Aug 3 79 45 0.10L Thunderstorm
Sun Aug 4 79 49 0.01L Thunderstorm
Mon Aug 5 77 54 0.07L Thunderstorm
Tues Aug 6 79 56
Forecast
August is upon us and we should expect another pretty warm month with significant monsoonal precipitation.. Temperatures decrease from July with highs dropping to 74F and lows of 46F. A typical August will have 2.24 inches of rain, mostly in the first half.
What we will see in the coming week will look a lot like the first week of August..We’ll start Thursday with some upslope and scattered thunderstorms. As we continue through the week we’ll see fewer showers each day with dry condition by Tuesday and Wednesday. Look for highs in the 60s becoming 70s after Saturday.
Thursday-Aug 8: Cloudy in upslope conditions with a good chance of thunderstorms. Highs in the mid 60s after lows in the upper 40s.
Friday-Aug 9: Monsoon showers will return under partly cloudy skies. Highs in the upper 60s after lows in the mid 40s.
Saturday-Aug 10: Chance of showers with temperatures like Friday.
Sunday-Aug 11: Fair with only a slight chance of showers. Highs in the low 70s after lows in the upper 40s.
Monday-Aug 12: Fair with highs in the mid 70s; lows near 50.
Tuesday-Aug 13: Like Monday
Wednesday-Aug 14: Fair with highs in the upper 70s after lows in the low 50s.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: