This Week’s Weather

By John McGinley
“Dirty Ridge” Saves The Day
After the northerly flow that brought us frequent showers in June, we tansitioned into a pattern with largeCheryl's Horses at Sundance high pressure system over the Southern Rockies. This would normally produce hot and dry weather, but the good news was that this high got an injection of tropical moisture that continued to pinwheel around clockwise producing showers every day for the first eight days of July. This phenomenon is termed a “dirty ridge” referring to the clouds seen on satellite imagery. The light winds and the moisture mitigated the fire threat somewhat. As this moisture decreased our temperatures increased into the 88s…..Tuesday July 9th was dry. However, it was a good run with precipitation totaling an inch plus in many areas.
Day Date High Low Precip Comments
Wed Jul 3 78 41 0.42L Thunderstorm
Thu Jul 4 79 51 0.03L Thunderstorm
Fri Jul 5 77 49 0.18L Thunderstorm
Sat Jul 6 77 50 0.09L Thunderstorm
Sun Jul 7 79 54 0.03L Thunderstorm
Mon Jul 8 81 52 0.04L Shower
Tues Jul 9 83 55
Forecast
Some good news for the coming week. Tropical systems are getting more active in Mexico and moisture is poised to race north as the upper level high moves to the east. We should see the first of this on Saturday but we could see isolated showers Friday. With the rain showers temperatures will fall back into the upper 70s with lows in the 50
Thursday-Jul 11: Partly cloudy and warm with highs in the low 80s after lows in the upper 40s. Isolated showers nearby.
Friday-Jul 12: Partly cloudy with a good chance of showers. High near 80 after lows in the upper 40s.
Saturday-Jul 13: Mostly cloudy with showers and thunderstorms. Highs in the upper 70s after lows in the low 50s.
Sunday-Jul 14: Cloudy with showers and thunderstorms. Highs in the mid 70s after lows in the upper 40s.
Monday-Jul 15: Partly cloudy with isolated thunderstorms. Highs a bit warmer with temperatures near 80 after lows in the mid 40s.
Tuesday-Jul 16: Partly cloudy with a better chance of showers. Highs in the upper 70s after lows in the upper 40s.
Wednesday-Jul 17: Cloudy with thunderstorms. Highs in the mid 70s after lows in the low 50s.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: